The Writer’s Blog

Goodies For Fans of Post-apocalyptic and Dystopian Sci-Fi

5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dystopian thriller ever!

“What can I say about Unholy Warrior? There are so many praising cliches out there that certainly fit, but do they mean anything anymore? Let’s skip them and jump right into the story.

Rebane Nordstrom, the MC makes for an unlikely protagonist. Although she has many admirable qualities—she’s a fighter, she’s courageous, she is determined to let nothing get in her way—she is also a cold-blooded killer. But it’s war, and if she wants to live, she must be able to do anything necessary to survive. A highly skilled sniper for the Spetznaz–the elite of the GRU, Russia’s Military Intelligence Agency, she is a valued prize for the enemy, the European Union.

When Rebane is captured, she knows she faces torture, unspeakable horrors, and in the end—death. She is taken to a formidable prison where she meets Major Weisser, a giant of a man capable and willing, to do anything to get answers. And to satisfy his twisted needs. The author, Rebecka Jäger takes us inside the mind of Rebane, and I for one was with her every step she took through hell, in her goal to reach the sanctity of her father’s cabin. Miss Jäger is an artist, and paints a vivid picture of a devasted world, one that even our worst nightmares pale in comparison. And in Rebane, one finds a realistic character who must fight everything from the harsh arctic weather to a man who has an army behind him, and won’t let go. Kudos Miss Jäger!”

Subscribe to today’s bestselling Dystopian authors for a chance to win a paperback of The Stand by Stephen King, Winter World by A.G. Riddle, After the Flood by Kassandra Montag, The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern, plus, a Handmaid’s tale enamel pin, a banned books notebook, a set of Fallout coasters, a double-sided Shatter Me bookmark, a Hunger Games travel mug, and a dystopian dreams candle. (For US-dwellers).

Dystopian Readers, I have a giveaway for you!

ENTER TO GRAB GREAT PRIZES

C. L. Cannon offers you a chance to win just the right stuff for a fan of dystopian fiction.

Subscribe to today’s bestselling Dystopian authors for a chance to win a paperback of The Stand by Stephen King, Winter World by A.G. Riddle, After the Flood by Kassandra Montag, The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern, plus, a Handmaid’s tale enamel pin, a banned books notebook, a set of Fallout coasters, a double-sided Shatter Me bookmark, a Hunger Games travel mug, and a dystopian dreams candle.

Win #TheStand, #WinterWorld, #AfterTheFlood, #TheStarlessSea, + #HandmaidsTale pin, banned books notebook, #Fallout costers, #ShatterMe bookmark, #HungerGames mug, & a dystopian candle!

For US residents only.

Subscribe to Read the Beginning of Unholy Warrior for FREE

Do you like the Mad Max movies? The thrillers of Tom Clancy and strong, kic-kass heroines? Then Unholy Warrior is the book for you. 

The reader’s Newsletter

The reader’s newsletter offers free reading and news about interesting books–delivered straight to your inbox. You’ll also be the first one to grab a promo code for Rebecka Jäger’s books.

Subscribe

* indicates required



Please select all the ways you would like to hear from :

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


Two Short Stories for Your Pleasure

A YOUNG WOMAN SUFFERS COVID-INDUCED COMA BUT YOU WON’T BELIEVE HER STRANGE EXPERIENCE

When author Stephanie Colbert woke up in the morning, it seemed like any other day. Twelve hours later, she entered the hospital, where the medical professionals diagnosed her with double pneumonia, septic shock, and hypoxemia. Stephanie spent eighteen days in Intensive Care, under the darkness of a coma, fighting for her life.
 
When she regained consciousness, the staff moved her to the Progressive Care wing. Her devoted husband knew something was wrong with her bizarre behavior. Inside her head, she suffered from hallucinations, vivid nightmares, delusions. Psychosis dominated her world. She didn’t know her husband Quinton or her two daughters most of the time. Quinton helped her survive death by keeping her company and talking to her. Now a new struggle began as he fought to save his wife from another danger
 
Later Stephanie learned she had COVID-19. She still endures some of the effects of the virus. Read Splintered Reality to enter a new level of consciousness.

TOUCH OF HEAVEN: FREE AMAZON DOWNLOAD 11th-14th OF DECEMBER

TOUCH OF HEAVEN: FREE AMAZON DOWNLOAD 11th-14th OF DECEMBER
This story takes you on a wonderful Night Safari ride with Siberian Huskies. It captures the essence of the Aurora Borealis and transports you into the magical world of northern Finland.

What a reviewer said: “Rebecka Jager paints a picture with words in her short story “A Touch of Heaven”. I shivered while reading her description of arctic weather while sitting inside on an August day in Florida where it’s too hot to venture outside. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to see the Aurora Borealis, and now I feel I have seen it in my mind’s eye. I especially loved the portrayal of the relationship between the sled dogs and their alpha female human leader. I hope this story is the introduction to a longer work. I want to read more.”

YA Fantasy, Mystery, and Dystopian Books to Read

Flight of the spark – a suspenseful ya fantasy

She never expected lawbreakers to take away her fear. Now she won’t rest until she uncovers all the secrets. Iskra is terrified of breaking the rules. So her world turns upside-down when a supposedly savage outlaw rescues her from a gang of deadly bandits. But as she learns more about the rebellious outsiders’ way of life, the authorities abduct her friend to ensure her silence.

Determined to search forbidden territory for her missing confidant, Iskra finds herself falling for the brave renegade willing to help her cause. But when local leaders catch wind of her whereabouts, they’ll do whatever it takes to stop this rule-breaker from learning the hideous truth. Will Iskra and her forbidden love escape the clutches of a ruthless social order

Reviewers called it “Devastatingly beautiful from start to finish” and “an impressively original, deftly crafted and inherently entertaining read.”


Flight of the Spark is the thrilling first book in The Outlawed Myth YA fantasy series. If you like dystopian worlds, facing fears, and challenging destiny, then you’ll love Evelyn Puerto’s gripping tale.

Buy on Amazon

Read the first four chapters of this book for free:

buried secrets – a family secret creates a mystery

Families have secrets. Some secrets are locked, sealed, and taken to the grave. Others beg to be told. They ooze through cracks a little at a time. You tease them out until an ugly truth is fully exposed. Ella Perri knows there’s something hidden in the family cottage.

In his last breath, Ella’s grandfather reveals to her a startling secret that hints at something sinister. On behalf of her beloved grandfather, she embarks on a dangerous quest for truth. A World War II diary and the 21st century collide as Ella desperately chases every clue in a faraway and unfamiliar setting where the real story begins. Who can be trusted and who has something to hide?

One secret leads to another. Ella must decide: share the secrets and alter the fates of her loved ones forever or become part of the lie that’s been buried deep for decades.

Buried Secrets is a suspenseful mystery with twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the shocking ending

The e-book is on sale for $.99 through December 23rd.

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

The author’s website: https://krissybaccaro.com/

unholy warrior – a post-apocalyptic spy thriller

If you like resourceful heroines who know their way around guns and how to survive in the arctic, this is the book to buy.

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Twenty-five years after the nuclear war, the world is still a harsh, frozen place. Second Lieutenant Rebane Nordstrom, a sniper in the ranks of a Russian elite reconnaissance unit, doesn’t know how to give up…ever. After someone assassinates the president of the European Union, the EU forces capture her and her lover. He soon disappears, but Rebane has no time for grief. She faces her worst nightmare in the form of Major Weisser, a man who commands the European Union counter-intelligence with an iron fist.

Thrust into a world ruled by torture, and constant fear, the battered, weakened Rebane knows her only chance of survival is to escape from the fortress that holds her captive. Faced with certain death, she becomes an unstoppable force, and escapes the womb of hell.  But her battle is far from over. A race across the post-apocalyptic badlands starts, but the man hunting her is a force of nature. Weisser destroys everything in his path. Can the Invisible Zone-the furthest corner of sub-zero Scandinavia-wipe out Rebane’s footprints in the snow?

No woman is an island, not even one as capable as Rebane. She saves a teenager named Liva, and an alliance forms between the desperate women from the opposite sides of the conflict. As the Russian Federation and the European Union head toward the final battle for diminishing resources, Liva proves to have aces up her sleeve.

Spirit animals and ancient Nordic deities have their role in the surprise outcome of this spy thriller. Where arctic weather wipes out armies, heeding an omen can spare your life.